Future Workshops in Creative Coding

Hey guys. I’m new in Berlin, and attended the OTS drinks last Thursday. I’ve been studying and teaching Creative Coding in London for the last few years, and would like to help out organizing some workshops in creative coding for OTS. Hopefully this is the correct place to make such a post! Some potential topics are:

• Processing. This is a programming language built upon Java, used by many creative artists for visual-based artworks. I believe this is a great way for students to learn programming (for creative students) as it has its own IDE, great examples, and a vibrant community for feedback on code, and forum to ask questions. There is also an Android mode so Processing sketches can be easily ran on physical devices, and a Javascript port which facilitates processing within web browsers.
  • openFrameworks. This is a library built upon C++, offering similar functional to Processing, but obviously more efficient etc. It is more geared to intermediate students (in my opinion) as it requires an external IDE (Xcode, Codeblocks, Eclipse, or Visual Studio), and isn’t as well documented. There is a vastly growing community though, and in fact workshops in openFrameworks are a sought-after commodity in London. One of openFrameworks main benefits is that apps for iOS can be easily created in C++. Cinder is a similar library, but more geared towards computer visuals.
  • Max/MSP. Max is a graphical programming language, predominately used by electronic musicians. It is proprietary software (a 30-day demo exists), and is Mac/Windows only. There is, however, fantastic tutorial and help resources, and a vibrant community which share code, and a runtime application which allows code to be ran, but not edited. Pure Data is an open-source equivalent, but is horribly documented, and not as user friendly. It is, however, easily embedded within iOS and Android. Max is taught on most Music Computing courses that I know of.