Experimental Website revamp

the challenge

It’s been way over a year that we’ve build the website as it is today. Back then, we just started having other chapters outside of Berlin and wanted to give our honours to them by being more inclusive but also document more of our processes. Since then a lot happened, but very little on the website.

Aside from having plenty more chapters by now, we’ve also developed and new formats. Neither of those are very accessible through the website today. On top, we’ve added more tools to our infrastructure – like discourse – and shaped more clearly what is it that we do.

the proposal

Earlier this year together with the Melbourne team, I started playing around with implementing an interactive map to make it possible for people to find an opentechschool in their region using the public meetup.com API. I called this experiment “the locator”, a different approach to finding events and chapters close by than a long (and not up to date) list on the top of the website. Here is a (cut) screenshot:

It is an interactive map with a list of all globally upcoming meetup events of all opentechschool groups found on meetup.com. Depending on where in the map you are, it highlights the corresponding events and chapters. And if you’ve geo-location of the browser enabled, it even locates the closest chapter to you.

Motivated by the great results, I went further and implemented the same events-displaying on the Chapter pages, too:

And because it was so much fun, also added a feature to show the latest discourse discussions if a category was given for that chapter:

Taking all the nice features together and revamping the website using a similar approach, I came up with this much more interactive and inviting approach to the lading page: