What to teach after beginners classes

Hi everyone,

I asked on slack about how to go about teaching after doing the beginner’s classes and somebody suggested discussing it on here, so here I am!

Basically I was interested in finding out how people go about teaching after the beginner’s tutorials are completed? I know for instance with python there are quite a few tutorials, but there are fewer for say javascript, and I was wondering what you do? Do you just run completely self-directed classes and just have coaches help people out with personal projects, or some other approach? I’m happy to try and write some more classes too, but obviously they’ll run out eventually and we were wondering what works best; I’d really like to help people keep learning after they’ve tried out coding and got into it :slight_smile:

Any assistance/advice would be ace!

Thanks,
Vikki

1 Like

Hola!

Excellent question, many answers :wink: I was a beginner not that long ago, here’s my experience & suggestions:

Like your question suggests, once you grow out of the first, beginner phase, the information/tutorials/guidance kind of disappears. Sure, there’s lots of blog posts and books, but knowing what to read and what to do next, that’s the hard part.

I personally think the best thing to do at this point, as a learner, is to start your own project. But since getting stuck is pretty much a given, having someone there to guide you through is essential. So YES having space for self-directed learning would be a great thing.

In addition, maybe offer talks on general concepts/ topics. I know it’s not as hands-on as a workshop, but it’s tremendously helpful. I remember feeling like I missed the proper words (jargon) to describe things. Also, many things you read are about something very specific, whereas I was looking for resources that gave me a bit more of an overview.