The Big "Hello This Is Me" Thread

Hello,

this thread is here to collect some basic information on the participants of SHDB17. This is were you can have a look for specific skills, backgrounds, people. In your post you can be as broad or specific as you like. The more you share, the more your peers have a chance to connect with you.
As a starting point include the following in your post:

Your name (+nicknames)
Your background (have you attended a science hack day before? What do you do when you’re not hacking?)
Your Skills (whatever you think could be interesting in this context. Know how to tie the best knots? Mention it!)
Your interests (What makes your hacker heart beat faster?)
Club Mate or Flora-Power?

Looking forward to get to know all of you!

1 Like

Hi,

I’m Joram. No nickname ever stuck.
I am a molecular biologist from Berlin. I work with plants and try to figure out how they make molecular stuff. I am 29 years old, and this is my first year organising the SHDB. In 2015 and 2016 I took part in the SHDB, exploring once tactile public transport information interfaces and the other time portable power generators to harvest energy while walking.
I know a lot about biology, something about technology, can code a very little bit, I can analyse mass spec data sets, I can handle graphics software, I brew beer, bake bread, and I can make presentations look nice. Oh, and I’m part of this year’s organising team, so come and ask me if you have any question about SHDB17.
Data visualisation is awesome. I love to learn about ways to make large data sets accessible to many people. If anyone wants to explore a large data set, count me in.
Flora-Power all the way. (and beer).

4 Likes

Hi!